responsive web templates

Plenary Speakers

Warwick Bowen’s research focuses on the implications of quantum science on precision measurement, and applications of quantum measurement in areas ranging from quantum condensed matter physics to the biosciences. He is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Physics, Director of the University of Queensland Precision Technologies Translation Hub, and a Theme Leader of the Australian Centre for Engineered Quantum Systems. His lab has significant efforts in using quantum light and quantum-limited technologies to improve biological microscopy. They also have active research efforts on integrated photonics, quantum control of macroscopic mechanical devices, and superfluid helium physics. Prof Bowen’s research is supported by the Australian Research Council, the US Air Force Office of Scientific Research, Lockheed Martin, the US Army Research Office and the Australian Defence Science and Technology Group

Naomi J. Halas is the Stanley C. Moore Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering at Rice University, where she also holds faculty appointments in the Departments of Physics and Astronomy, Chemistry, Materials Science and Nanoengineering, and Bioengineering. She is best known as the first person to demonstrate that controlling the geometry of metallic nanoparticles determines their color. She pursues studies of plasmonic and nanophotonic systems and their applications. She is author of more than 300 refereed publications, has more than 20 issued patents, and has presented more than 500 invited talks. She has been awarded the APS Frank Isakson Prize and Julius Lilienfeld Prize, the R. W. Wood Prize of the OSA, the ACS Award in Colloid Chemistry, and the Spiers Medal of the Royal Society of Chemistry. Halas has been elected to the National Academies of Sciences and Engineering (U. S.), and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

Philipp Kukura is Professor of Chemistry and Fellow of Exeter College at the University of Oxford. He received an MChem from the University of Oxford (2002) and a Ph.D. from the University of California, Berkeley (2006). After postdoctoral work at ETH Zurich, he joined the Chemistry Department at the University of Oxford as Research Fellow (2010), Lecturer (2011), and then full Professor (2016). Honours and awards include the Royal Society of Chemistry Harrison Meldola Award (2011), the Royal Society of Chemistry Marlow Award (2015), the EBSA Young Investigator Award (2017), the Royal Society Wolfson Research Merit Award (2018), the Klung- Wilhelmy Science award in Chemistry (2018), the Blavatnik Award for Young Scientists UK in Chemistry (2019), and the RMS Medal for Light Microscopy (2021). His current research interests include the application of ultrasensitive light microscopy to study biomolecular structure and interactions.

Teri W. Odom is the Joan Husting Madden and William H. Madden, Jr. Professor of Chemistry and Chair of the Chemistry Department at Northwestern University. She is an expert in designing structured nanoscale materials that exhibit extraordinary size and shape-dependent optical and physical properties. Odom has pioneered a suite of multi-scale nanofabrication tools that have resulted in plasmon-based nanoscale lasers that exhibit tunable color, flat optics that can manipulate light at the nanoscale, and hierarchical substrates that show controlled wetting and super-hydrophobicity. She has also invented a class of biological nanoconstructs that are facilitating unique insight into nanoparticle-cell interactions and that show superior imaging and therapeutic properties because of their gold nanostar shape.

Odom is a Member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences (AAAS) and a Fellow of Optica [formally the Optical Society of America (OSA)], the American Physical Society (APS), the Materials Research Society (MRS), the Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC), the American Chemical Society (ACS), and the American Institute of Medical and Biological Engineering (AIMBE). Select honors and awards include: the RSC Centenary Prize; the ACS National Award in Surface Science; a Research Corporation TREE Award; a U.S. Department of Defense Vannevar Bush Faculty Fellowship; a Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study Fellowship at Harvard University; an NIH Director's Pioneer Award; the MRS Outstanding Young Investigator Award; the National Fresenius Award from Phi Lambda Upsilon and the ACS; an Alfred P. Sloan Research Fellowship; and a David and Lucile Packard Fellowship in Science and Engineering.
Odom was founding Chair of the Noble Metal Nanoparticles Gordon Research Conference (GRC) and founding Vice-Chair of the GRC on Lasers in Micro, Nano, Bio Systems. She was an inaugural Associate Editor for Chemical Science and founding Executive Editor of ACS Photonics. She is Editor-in-Chief of Nano Letters.